I am MORE than just a reader of Eckhart Tolle

If we could have a show of hands for all who listened to Oprah’s webcast with Eckhart Tolle last night and who are blogging about it today, I’m sure the numbers would be very high.

Yes, I signed up, signed on, was connected for about 20 minutes before it began (warm up entertainment/promos were cheerfully provided) and then, about the time Oprah turns to introduce Eckhart, BLANK SCREEN. BIG WHITE blank screen. Yes, there was a help page. No, it did not help me. So, it’s reassuring to know I can catch a replay today, tonight, whenever the time seems right.

Did this frustrate me? Initially, yes. A big, virtual letdown. BUT, then I thought, “What would Eckhart do/say?” (WWED) He would give his strange little giggle-laugh and say “this is your now moment. you are not the victim of technological failure, you are not one left out of history-in-the-making — you are MUCH MORE than that!” “Breathe into this moment!”

Having read both his best known works previously, I was free to be in the moment and make another choice! Recently I checked out his Living A Life of Inner Peace © 2003-04, so I just listened to this CD instead. (This message brought to you in shades of ‘new earth green’.)

This morning, I reworked the card design above, (more at http://www.pbase.com/qwertycards/new_cards) and then, while stumbling online in pursuit of a quote by Goethe, I found a new website:

http://www.andrewcohen.org/

which, among other things, publishes a magazine called WIE (What is Enlightenment) and which immediately makes me want to break my “no more magazine subscriptions” rule.

This is self-imposed because during 3 moves in 5 years, I finally came to see that my many boxes of magazines (lovingly read and collected since 1972 and which I cannot throw out because they are visually pleasing) are really quite heavy and inevitably produce critical remarks from my moving helpers (except for the Mexicans, who smile and sweat happily no matter what) and, after donating as many as I could part with to libraries & schools, I decided that I would only visit the library for my magazine fix.

This said, I could not help but lust after the new WIE issue! It takes me back to the ‘good ole days’ when, living in Ozone, TN (yes, really! I have lived in the Ozone!) which was very idyllic except for a complete lack of cultural connections, we so looked forward to our issues of Utne reader, Mother Jones, American Craft etc. arriving in the mail.

Here is an excerpt from the WIE Content Directory:

Business and Economy

Authentic Leadership(5 media files; 4 articles)
Business And Spirituality(10 media files; 6 articles)
General Business(5 media files; 1 article)
Organizational Development(4 media files; 3 articles)

Culture and Society

Arts and Creativity(4 media files; 2 articles)
Education(3 articles)
Feminism(8 media files; 13 articles)
Gen X and Gen Y(3 media files; 13 articles)
Media and Communications(3 media files; 13 articles)
Popular Culture(6 media files; 25 articles)
Postmodern Culture(15 media files; 41 articles)
Sports(2 media files; 5 articles)

Enlightenment and Spiritual Life

Celibacy(9 articles)
Communion and Interdependence(1 media file; 17 articles)
Interfaith Dialogue(3 articles)
Meditation(5 media files; 4 articles)
Renunciation(1 media file; 22 articles)
Sex and Spirituality(3 media files; 17 articles)
Spiritual and Social Activism(10 media files; 19 articles)
Spiritual Awakening(10 media files; 95 articles)
Spiritual Inquiry(3 media files; 9 articles)
Spiritual Powers, Healings, and Miracles(2 media files; 4 articles)
Spiritual Practices(3 media files; 21 articles)
Student-Teacher Relationship(4 media files; 24 articles)
Tantra(1 media file; 8 articles)

Oh yeah, looks like a new black hole I’ll enjoy tumbling around in for somewhile!

One comment on “I am MORE than just a reader of Eckhart Tolle”

  1. I am so greatful to Eckhart Tolle and Oprah for turning me onto Dr. Jill Bolte Taylor and her beautiful book “”My Stroke of Insight””. Her story is amazing and her gift to all of us is a book purchase away I’m happy to say.

    Dr Taylor was a Harvard brain scientist when she had a stroke at age 37. What was amazing was that her left brain was shut down by the stroke – where language and thinking occur – but her right brain was fully functioning. She experienced bliss and nirvana and the way she writes about it (or talks about it in her now famous TED talk) is incredible.

    What I took away from Dr. Taylor’s book above all, and why I recommend it so highly, is that you don’t have to have a stroke or take drugs to find the deep inner peace that she talks about. Her book explains how. “”I want what she’s having””, and thanks to this wonderful book, I can! Thank you Dr. Taylor, and thank you Eckhart and Oprah.


Leave a Reply

