Optimal Brain Happiness Coming On

By: qwerty53

Feb 09 2009

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Anthem for Monday, February 9.

(With apologies to John Denver)

Chocolate on my fingers makes me happy.

Chocolate shaped like hearts can make me smile.

Chocolate on my tongue just tastes so lovely.

Chocolate almost always makes me sigh.

Or high. Or fine pie. Another excellent idea.

Your choice  .  .  .

This morning I required an extra nudge to get out of bed. My usual cup of tea did not seem sufficient, so I plundered M’s stash of dark chocolate Dove bites. Two, just two.

M. ate the last of his homemade chocolate whiskey truffles today. I had my share over the holidays until I regained control and left the last one in the fridge.

Perhaps something is in our air today?

According to Dr. Susan Mitchell in Nutrition magazine:

“In addition to its mouth feel and decadent taste, chocolate also contains phenylethylamine, a chemical that some people describe as giving them the feeling of being in love . . . often referred to as optimal brain happiness. Another chemical, theobromine, provides a caffeine like effect to the body.

“Additionally, we now know that dark chocolate is also a source of the antioxidants called polyphenols. It only takes about one ounce to get that optimal brain happiness and this mood elevation typically lasts for about 30 minutes or so.”

Well, it’s obvious that our household is on a quest for simple optimal brain happiness today!

Leave a Reply

